The Rudgleigh Steakhouse

I visited the Rudgleigh Steakhouse one Friday evening in June with my son, Mike. He had come over from Swindon after work to where we were located, at Portbury. The weather was awful, torrential rain and being a Friday evening his normal journey time of one hour was doubled to two. He was a little frazzled. I had an idea for eating as someone had recommended this steakhouse and this seemed like an opportunity to try it out. The Rudgleigh Steakhouse is located about one mile from the M5 Junction 19 on the A369 towards Bristol. Handily, about 3 miles from our caravan site. Perfect.

Upon pulling into the car park , we saw plenty of cars which at 8.15pm was a good sign. From the outside, the restaurant looked very well kept and it got even better inside. The walks were very tastefully decorated with stencil sayings around the theme of wine and food. They actually generated conversation between Mike and myself, making us laugh. We both enjoyed a pint whilst choosing our food, him drinking Lemonade, or Lager as he prefers to call it! I chose Doom Bar ale which was very tasty. A proper drink Mike!

Whilst perusing the menu, I was finding it difficult to choose, as it all looked tasty. Mike then pointed out that they did a Friday Night Steak Night offer, and there was 2 x 8oz Rump steaks or 2 x 5oz Fillet Steaks, accompanied by two glasses of wine. We both opted for the rump steak dishes and added onion rings and a cheesy ciabatta with red wine. Then we settled back to chat whilst enjoying our drinks. The ambiance was perfect for chatting as there was no overpowering ‘background’ music to spoil it.

When to food arrived it looked really good. I purposely did not go overboard on the description there, because the best was yet to come. I like English mustard with steak and ketchup with chips. Normally these are served in very small pots which never have enough in them. Not here! They arrived in small jars with plenty for both of us. Very impressed with this.

Now to the food, and as I hinted at, the best was to come! I like my steak to be medium/rare and could tell this was going to be really good by the way my knife literally fell through the meat. Just like a hot knife through butter, to coin a phrase. Oh my goodness! Did it taste! This was a steak to savour so eating slowly was a must. I cannot adequately describe how delicious our main course was, but I am returning with Tina before we leave this area again. I must also make mention the wine at this point. I have been disappointed by ‘house wine’ but not this one. It was tasty and very smooth. No nasty sharpness to it.

Having enjoyed the main course, I thought we would leave, but we were tempted by the choice of sweets. Mike opted for chocolate brownie with pouring cream and I pear and rhubarb crumble with vanilla ice cream. I am a sucker for both crumble and rhubarb, so to have both was great. There was a good combination of both pear and rhubarb and a dish to enjoy. Mike really enjoyed his brownie

I have yet to mention the staff because they were so friendly and very helpful. We did have a conversation with the lady owner and I do wish I had asked her name. She had come to ask how we had found the meal and we had a really good conversation during which we learnt that the chef was her husband.

You can probably tell that we really enjoyed our visit and the food. Definitely a place to return to. Before I finish, I must apologise that I had failed to take any photos to accompany this blog. So, I must thank the Rudgleigh Steakhouse for the use of their photo’s. You can visit their website here.

Leave a comment